DEV Community

Mahmoud Ahmed
Mahmoud Ahmed

Posted on

The Amazing Adventure of Starting my First Freelance Job as a College Student.

Starting a freelance career while in college can be a daunting task, but it can also be an incredible learning experience that can provide you with valuable skills and experience.

When I was in my second year of college, I decided to take the leap and start my first freelance job. I was scared and unsure of what to expect, but I knew that I wanted to gain real-world experience and develop my skills in my field of study.

I started by researching different freelance platforms and networking with people in my industry. Then, I found a client that needs simple live web application to enter/display the results and all the info about all handball matches, with respect timing and scores.

Working on that project gave me valuable experience in project management, communication, and problem-solving. I also learned how to work independently and how to manage my time effectively. It was a great opportunity to put my knowledge and skills into practice and see how they applied in the real world.

One of the biggest challenges I faced was how to get accepted in any bid I make? The key was: "I'm still an under-grad with no past reviews/rate, so why would anyone hire me?", I said. The answer was: My budget is the key.

Overall, starting a freelance career was an amazing adventure that helped me to grow both personally and professionally. If you're considering starting a freelance career, I highly recommend it. It's a great way to gain experience, develop your skills, and earn some extra money.

Top comments (0)