DEV Community

Cover image for My first Open Source Contribution Month
Mainak Chattopadhyay
Mainak Chattopadhyay

Posted on

My first Open Source Contribution Month

Intro

I was hoping you could take a look at my GitHub Account Link

This was my very first open-source contribution. I am a 3rd Year Engineering Undergraduate at VIT Chennai, trying to break out in the domain.

Highs and Lows

Pull Request 1 - This was about revamping the ReadMe for better navigation and contributing experience.

Pull Request 2 - This was a UI Enhancement for a Hackathon Project.

Pull Request 3 - This helped me learn NEXT JS and JSON - SERVER

Pull Request 4 - This helped me learn Tailwind CSS

Growth

Hacktoberfest is more than just about making contributions. It's also a great opportunity to learn from the open source community.

Many open source projects have active communities on Discord or Slack. These communities are a great place to ask questions and get help from experienced developers.

I also recommend following open source projects on social media and reading their blogs. This is a great way to stay up-to-date on the latest developments and learn about new technologies.

Hacktoberfest 2023 was an amazing experience. I learned a lot, made some great contributions, and connected with the open source community.

If you're a developer, I encourage you to participate in Hacktoberfest next year. It's a great way to learn, give back, and make a difference.

Here are some additional tips for participating in Hacktoberfest:

Start early. Don't wait until the last week of October to start contributing.

Don't be afraid to ask for help. The open-source community is very welcoming and helpful.

Be patient and persistent. It may take some time to get your pull requests merged.

Have fun! Hacktoberfest is a great opportunity to learn and connect with other developers.

Top comments (0)