DEV Community

Maiu
Maiu

Posted on

Babylon.js Browser MMO - DevLog - Update #2 - 8 way WASD movement

Hello,

Here's another brief update on the progress. I've been considering different movement types for the game: go-to-click, WASD, 8-way WASD, or something else. While go-to-click is easy to implement, it often feels clumsy and makes the gameplay static. WASD, like in WoW, is a good option but not quite what I'm aiming for.

I've decided that an 8-way WASD setup would be the best fit. It's more dynamic and provides a gameplay feel similar to Diablo. It might end up being a hybrid with go-to-click, but we'll see how it evolves. :)

The implementation is not perfect yet and has some bugs, but I think it's sufficient for now. :) The jittering you see is due to the lack of client-side prediction. I plan to add that in the near future :)

Hope You like it!

Top comments (0)