DEV Community

Cover image for 3+ Productivity Hacks with Notion
Mammad Yahyayev
Mammad Yahyayev

Posted on • Updated on

3+ Productivity Hacks with Notion

Clock for productivity

Hello, I hope you are doing well. In today’s article, I will share some use cases that I take advantage of them frequently on Notion.

Notion probably most used productivity tools around the world in these days. There are tons of things you can do in Notion, such as managing your time, creating todo lists, managing your projects, taking notes, etc.

How to Visualize Math Equations?

I am studying Probability and Statistics in the university for my master degree and there are huge amount of formulas and they are hard to remember. Thus, I decide to put them down to Notion.

Math Formula

For instance, if you want to represent following formula in Notion, you can make it by doing the thing that are listed below.

  1. Type /math
  2. Select ‘Inline Equation‘

Notion Inline Equation

  1. Type followings in the opened dialog

P(A ∩ B) \above{2pt} P(B)

The expression doesn’t require explanation, the only thing that might confuse you is {2pt}. It gives thickness to the Vinculum (aka. fraction bar).

How to Learn a New Language with Notion?

Language learning process requires so much practice and effort. Sometimes the process can be quite challenging, if you have no clue how to cope with the process, I will share the technique that I’ve learned from Robin MachPherson. Follow the steps.

  1. Create new page in Notion and call it Language Learning (you can call any name you want)

  2. Create subpages inside of the Language Learning page. For instance, English, German, Spanish and so on

  3. Create table inside the subpages (English, German, Spanish), and add 2 columns. First column will be the language that you are currently learning, the latter column will be your mother language.

  4. Add sentences and phrases that you hear every day, along with their translations.

That’s it, your language learning process is planned.

Language Learning

English-German translation

If you want to learn the technique in details, watch this video.

How to Track Book Reading Progress in Notion?

I really enjoy to note down phrases from the books that I read, at the same time it is good to see the progress on the book. I create seperate page for books on Notion.

books on Notion

In first column, I keep the books that I planned to read in the future, the middle column contains books that I am reading currently, the last column shows completed books. Let’s look at the book individually.

Core Java Volume

The properties explain themselves, the last property is a bit different the others. It shows, 34% of the book’s content has been read. This is the unique formula, applied to all books in the page.

It is good to see the progress, because it attract me to complete book. I will show you how to make a property like this. Follow the steps

  1. Add a new property with Formula
  2. Add the following into Formula

round(prop("Current Page") / prop("Page Count") * 100)

These are the dynamic values, prop(“Current Page”) will be replaced with 372. And this formula will be applied to all the books in the page dynamically.

You may ask why did we use dynamic properties, because the progress or pages are different in each book, if you type them without using dynamic properties, it will be the same value in each book. These are the properties that I want to see on every book, of course, you can add multiple properties.

How to Manage Blog Contents?

If you are a content creator, managing your articles, videos or post might be a difficult process.

Blog Content

In the image above, you can see some of my contents. In each content contains a page that allow me to write ideas or things that I am going to share on blog.

The template is not only for blog contents, but also for all of your social media posts, or youtube contents.

As you can see, there are 5 properties. Their names explain themselves, and no need to mention. However, the only thing I want to mention here is Post Status. There are 4 statuses.

  1. Not Started — In this phase, I write all of the ideas, notes.

  2. In Progress — this status indicates, I am currently writing the article. I try to compete the article in 2 days or as soon as possible.

  3. Need to Update — In this phase, I’ve already written and published the article. After I come up with new idea, I changed status to ‘Need to Update’

  4. Done — this status indicates, I finished the article

You can add more properties into this template such as link of the article, author, how many words have written and so on. However those properties are enough for my case.

Conclusion

I have listed my use cases here, so please add yours to the comment section, so everyone can benefit.

See you soon in upcoming articles. Take care of yourself.

If you have any question, you can reach me via LinkedIn

Top comments (0)