DEV Community

Cover image for Day 3 of Brylnt: Next.js vs Remix
Manav Codaty
Manav Codaty

Posted on

Day 3 of Brylnt: Next.js vs Remix

Hey everyone! I know this isn’t directly about the making of Brylnt, but I ran into some issues deciding which framework to use, and I thought I’d share my thoughts on two popular contenders: Next.js and Remix.

Both frameworks are excellent, and depending on the project, either could be the right choice. Since I’m using the T3 Stack, which includes Next.js, I naturally leaned toward it, but I was curious about how Remix compares. So here’s a quick breakdown of my thoughts on each:

Next.js


Next.js has been around for a while and has grown to become a go-to for React developers. It offers built-in server-side rendering (SSR), static site generation (SSG), and API routes. Here’s what I love about it:

  • Mature ecosystem: Next.js is backed by Vercel, which means strong community support and tons of features.
  • Flexible rendering: You can switch between static generation, server-side rendering, and client-side rendering depending on your needs.
  • SSG & ISR: Static Site Generation (SSG) and Incremental Static Regeneration (ISR) are great for performance, especially for content-heavy sites.
  • Built-in API routes: You don’t need a separate backend for handling simple APIs, which is perfect for smaller projects like a landing page.
  • T3 Stack integration: It’s already part of my stack, and combining it with tRPC, Drizzle, and NextAuth.js just makes things smooth.

Remix


Remix, on the other hand, is a newer framework that focuses on performance and user experience. It’s gaining a lot of traction due to some unique features:

  • Native form handling: Remix has a really cool approach to forms, making it easier to handle them without needing as much client-side JavaScript.
  • Progressive enhancement: Remix prioritizes progressive enhancement, which ensures that apps work well even in environments with poor connectivity.
  • Routing: The way Remix handles routing is more nested and declarative compared to Next.js, which makes it a bit more intuitive for certain types of applications.
  • Server-side data fetching: Remix’s data loading is built around server-side rendering, which can make it easier to load data directly when rendering pages.

Which One Fits Brylnt?


After some thinking, I’m sticking with Next.js for Brylnt. The flexibility with SSR and SSG, its maturity, and the fact that it integrates seamlessly with the T3 Stack really make it a better choice for my needs. Plus, with Next.js, I can easily scale and optimize the landing page and my client’s websites without switching frameworks down the line.

That said, I see why Remix is gaining traction, and for more user-interaction-heavy apps or projects where performance at scale is crucial, Remix would be a strong contender.

Thanks for reading through this! I’ll be back to regular Brylnt updates soon—just had to work through this framework decision first.

Top comments (0)