DEV Community

Cover image for GoodBrief - A random generator for design briefs
Manu
Manu

Posted on

GoodBrief - A random generator for design briefs

Hi dev.to,

I'm a little new here, and I wanted to show you guys this side project I've been working on-and-off for a while now. I'd really appreciate your feedback!

I went to an art and design school, so from talking to my classmates and from personal experience, I know that design students are always looking for ways to add to their portfolio. The problem is that it can often be hard to get professional work without already having experience. And just coming up with an idea in your head just isn't the same as trying to meet someone else's requirements.

That’s why I made goodbrief. It generates random design briefs—the document with all the specifications for the design that a hypothetical client would give you. You can choose from many different types of design work and industries so that you always have fresh briefs to practice on.

Version 1.0

Like, I said, I have been semi-working on this project for a while. I made the initial version (called /Brief) in 2016 and I was surprised at how well it was received! It's been used all around the world, and I love getting emails from people telling me how they've found the site useful. It's even been used in some schools to teach design, and featured on websites like UCreative. I love the designs I've seen people make based on my sites brief, and in 2018 I decided to redesign the website from the ground up. The original version is still available here.

Version 2.0

While the original site was just built with client-side Javascript and jQuery, I decided to use Node.js and Express.js for the redesign. This will allowed me to lay the foundation for other features that I have planned. For now, this update adds several new job types and industries, as well as a better sentence generation system and a refreshed design. If you have any suggestions for future updates, feel free to reach out.

Today marks an important milestone: GoodBrief has been officially launched on Product Hunt! At the time of writing it's sitting at the #2 Product of the Day spot, and the feedback has been amazing. If you're into that kind of thing, please check it out.

That's it! I just wanted to share this project with the community. If you decide to check it out, please let me know if you end up making anything with it. Seeing designs based on these briefs is my favorite part of the whole project 😊

Top comments (0)