DEV Community

Cover image for 2d Portfolio like zelda and pokemon old games of Nintendo
Marcelo
Marcelo

Posted on • Updated on

2d Portfolio like zelda and pokemon old games of Nintendo

Recently, I follow a tutorial to build my first game/resume with Kaboom lib.

I follow this tutorial on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwtfWORCN0U

It was created to understand how a game works and to prove my skills on jobs interview.

Feel free to explore:

https://2dportfoliomarcelomsc.netlify.app/

The tutorial use the Tiled free app to make a JSON map of the sprites:
https://www.mapeditor.org/

With this application, we can understand the core concepts of Kaboom.js.

Make scene, player move, show dialog that has links to others websites, boundaries that the player can interactive with.
Set camera, resize function to be mobile and browser compatible.

Suggestion are welcome.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
alexseen12 profile image
alexseen

When I was preparing for the interview, I wanted to look perfect. Finding a suitable suit on the Internet proved difficult without exact measurements. I turned my attention to looksize.com/blog/how-body-measure..., where I could quickly measure my parameters and find a suit that fit. The site not only helped me choose the size, but also provided advice on colors and style, which was very helpful. It made my task much easier and I felt confident at the interview.

Collapse
 
marcelomsc profile image
Marcelo

That`s great! I will read more about it.