DEV Community

Martin Spierings
Martin Spierings

Posted on

What are some must-use things for new Angular projects in 2023?

So I'm switching jobs soon and will be setting up a few new Angular projects, new libraries and whatnot and am wondering what I might be missing out on and should be implementing in new projects.

The past months I've been working on weird architectures and overly complex systems that made me realize that I might be used to outdated concepts and not been using the latest tools that would make me a happy dev.

I am aware of NX and how things change because of it. Not sure if its usable for every use case I will have but I will keep that in mind. So for folks that have been finding new stuff to use the past 2 years, let me know as I have a few questions:

  1. What SCSS framework is currently the most recommended (like Tailwind, Material or something else? Of course "it depends" but whats your favorite right now?)
  2. What ESLint rules and extentions would you recommend (over the default ones)
  3. What mocking and testing extensions are now recommended? I know of NGMocks and NGSpectator but perhaps there is something else new for speeding up building tests
  4. Should I switch Cypress with something else? Or get something to speed up writing E2E tests?
  5. Should I switch to Jest and if so what helper libraries are recommended?
  6. What other tools have you been using?
  7. What other code quality things have you started using?
  8. Whats something you didn't use one year ago that you think people should try?

Basically pretend I've been under a rock for 2 years and tell me what you've been using that has improved your Angular project code and made your projects more fun to work on. Aside the blatantly obvious things like migrating to Angular 15 and so on...

Top comments (0)