DEV Community

Maryam Yusuf
Maryam Yusuf

Posted on

Modifying Expectations

Hi everyone!

In today's blog post I will be talking about all the progress I made over the past weeks, the hurdles I encountered and how my current progress has differed from what was planned originally.

Midway into my internship, I can gladly say that I have accomplished several milestones with my project. Over the past seven weeks there has been immense learning involved. Looking back at myself before the project I can see how much experience and improvement I have gathered.
 

 

Project Milestone

Back in November, when I applied for the KCIDB project I submitted a project timeline, to serve as a road map through my internship period. The timeline was reviewed by my mentor and he made some changes to make the process more realistic.

I spent a week familiarising myself with the project, to understand how KCIDB and its tools works and I closed a pull request I did not complete during my contribution phase.

For the remaining six weeks, I have been following the timeline with my mentor. Although we had to reprioritise the tasks and my mentor added some tasks for me to work on.

So far I have worked on :

  • Improving the CI/CD pipeline

  • Added test to the project

  • Updated the notification flow of the system

  • Learnt how Google cloud platform works, wrote test to monitor cloud functions, Pub/Sub topics, Schedulers, Firestore and BigQuery database deployment

Roadblocks

 

 
Some task took longer than expected. Working on the notification task was slightly challenging at first. It was necessary for me to understand how the project works, so as not to break any existing feature. I have discussed the struggles I faced in this blog-post.

These roadblocks delayed my progress. As I had to manually test my updates and was not sure what to check out for. Over this entire time, my mentor was very supportive of me.

The road further

The goal of the next half of my internship would be to add new features to KCIDB and write more tests to support the system.

I am immensely grateful to my mentor and the KernelCI community for being an integral part of my learning experience.

Top comments (0)