DEV Community

Cover image for Is stepping down, a step down?
Mateus Loubach
Mateus Loubach

Posted on • Updated on

Is stepping down, a step down?

While there are dream jobs and great jobs, sometimes you get opportunities to grow somewhere else before you are "qualified" to chase those dream jobs when they appear. - However, what to do when the time comes? We never truly feel completely secure in what we do (unless you have fantastic experience and have been doing this since you were born), and our heart pumps faster... you know how it works.

In my opinion, we should ALWAYS strive for better, and from my point of view, sometimes, better doesn't always mean the one paying more in a bigger company with your own office and whatnot. - better, is one where you will be able to obtain experience where not many arrive or chose to follow. It means unique tools. It means maybe taking a lower level job for a "long run" reward. - This is something I enjoy doing. Perhaps I am wrong, but we'll only know when we go through it.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar • Edited

Hi Mateus,

I had a lot of colleagues anxious to be managers or bosses in a short time "just to do less and earn more money." However, experience is almost the most valued thing in an interview because, with experience, you will do your job better and don't need many directions to accomplish your tasks (yes, with a good onboarding process).

Many enterprises pay the seniority not only by years in X, Y technology; they paid for your previous experience and how you resolved problems in other places. I prefer to stay in a place with more challenges than good pay, my wife agrees with my statement, and it works well :)

Collapse
 
matceasar profile image
Mateus Loubach

Hey, Dennis. thanks for replying.

I agree with your point of view. - Not only does our profession provide us with "security" (forgive me if that's not the right word, english isn't my native language.), if you're great at what you do, but it also allows us to be well paid for non-seniority titles.

I've had friends do the same. They'd hunt for management and I believe it's because they think IT is just like any other area of work. - and it's not.

In my country, we've been having issues with this because we have a lot of "new" devs moving up in seniority, however, they don't have the experience, as you mentioned. - This obviously results in bad choices and poor managing decisions.

I've moved up a level, but am planning on moving back down because I don't feel completely ready for some responsibilities, and I need to focus on my other projects.

Thanks for the comment.
Cheers.