DEV Community

Cover image for How To Build Oracles on Stellar
Matéush
Matéush

Posted on

How To Build Oracles on Stellar

This is a submission for the Build Better on Stellar: Smart Contract Challenge : Create a Tutorial

Your Tutorial

You can find the code on GitHub

What I Created

Many blockchain apps focus on advanced financial techniques that might be too complex to understand for beginners. I decided to take more modest approach and focus on the real-world scenarios. I recorded a screencast on building an oracle for tracking trains in Switzerland. In the end, (almost) everyone knows what trains are and how they work. Thanks to this I was able to explain this topic in a simple fashion.

I had only 8 days to complete this challenge, so I needed to narrow down the scope and focused on one train only. I chose the IR36 train from Basel to Zürich HB.

Image description

In my screencast, viewers will learn how to write smart contracts and oracles.

Journey

I am Mateusz and I work as an SWE for one blockchain company called stakefish. My primary focus has been on Ethereum development, particularly around staking services (yes, i built oracles before and they are managing millions of dollars in Ethereum). I work with a bunch of programming languages including Python, JavaScript, and Java.

However, I consider myself more of a "jack of all trades but master of none," but I am always eager to learn new things. When I stumbled upon the Build Better on Stellar: Smart Contract Challenge, I saw it as a fantastic opportunity not only expand my knowledge (learn Rust) but also teach other.

I am proud of how the Swiss Train Tracker project turned out. It demonstrates the power of blockchain in tracking the real-world data. Moving forward, I consider this project as completed but I will definitely continue exploring Rust. I hope to further contribute to the ecosystem by developing innovative solutions and sharing my knowledge with the community.

Mateusz

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
binabdulateef profile image
Bin abdulateef

This tutorial is very helpful. Thank you for creating it.

Can we connect on Discord ?

Collapse
 
mateush profile image
Matéush

Sure, You can find me on Stellar channel. There is a standalone topic for this tutorial (Community -> Video content -> How To Build Oracles on Stellar).

discord.com/channels/8975147284594...