DEV Community

Cover image for The Tech Shed - Remote Work Space
Mat Silva
Mat Silva

Posted on • Updated on

The Tech Shed - Remote Work Space

Hi I am Mat Silva & I work remotely. I wanted to share some pictures of my work space (what I call the "tech shed").

Alt Text

Alt Text

Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text
I am still working on better cable management 😬
Alt Text
When it rains, I really enjoy being able to feel close to it.
Alt Text
Alt Text
Here is a little bit wider of a view...
Alt Text
& every now and then my dogs want to hang with me in here.
Alt Text

UPDATE:
Added some sweet lighting & more art from @geneljumalon
Alt Text

Got a cool setup for your workspace? Share in the comments.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
toddrobinson profile image
Todd Robinson

Very cool, Mat. Thank you for sharing!

Collapse
 
matsilva profile image
Mat Silva

No problem and thanks

Collapse
 
joshuakeel profile image
Joshua Keel

Mat, do you find yourself going into the house constantly to use the bathroom? I just worry that would be my problem. 😁

Great space, though! I want one for sure.

Collapse
 
matsilva profile image
Mat Silva

Hey Josh, thanks! I've definitely been asked that before and fortunately it's not a big issue for me 👍

Collapse
 
jstayton profile image
Justin Stayton

Did you build this yourself? I'd love to hear that part of the story.

Collapse
 
matsilva profile image
Mat Silva • Edited

I think the 'making of' deserves it's own post, but here is the tldr;

  1. Got a concrete slab poured by a local company.
  2. Designed the exterior of the shed and had a company that builds sheds, build the 'shell' and deliver it(which was amazing to watch them deliver it fully built)
  3. Did the interior (drywall, insulation, flooring, etc) and the electrical DIY with the help of family members.
Collapse
 
ucavalcante profile image
Ulisses Cavalcante

Nice I believe I can live in that place 😂

Collapse
 
matsilva profile image
Mat Silva • Edited

Lol I have joked about putting a loft in it, the ceiling is high enough 😁

Collapse
 
grohit profile image
G Rohit

Super neat and so damn aesthetic ... Love it, man

Collapse
 
matsilva profile image
Mat Silva

Appreciate that.

Collapse
 
tom_livingston profile image
Tom Livingston

Very cool. My first thought though was 'is it secure?'

Collapse
 
matsilva profile image
Mat Silva

Welp, I have wyze.com cams setup all around my house, in my backyard and one in my shed, which has been pretty dependable to date. Also my backyard has a privacy fence installed, so that helps.