DEV Community

Matthew Palmer
Matthew Palmer

Posted on

What is Flatiron School?

If you're reading this article on THIS website, chances are you've attended a bootcamp if you're not completely self-taught. This is for those just getting into software engineering/website development.

As of September 10th, 2020, I am writing this blog on the day of my graduation to celebrate this accomplishment and those who helped me along the way. Flatiron is a highly intensive bootcamp mainly for Data Science, Software Engineering, and UI/UX Design curriculums. Personally, I went for software engineering. It teaches the fundamental concepts of Object-Oriented Programming in website development through rigorous lectures, labs, and close collaboration with classmates.

In the beginning, I have to be honest -- I wasn't too sure of what to expect. I had this notion in my head that you had to be incredibly intelligent to learn how to code. This is far from the truth. Flatiron didn't just teach me how to code. They taught me how to learn! It wasn't just about learning to build websites, but how to truly be a software engineer.

If I had anything I wanted to place a spotlight on the most, it would be the highly supportive staff the school has. I had the pleasure of working with my cohort lead, Juan Castillo, for the majority of my time at Flatiron. He was always there for us whenever we needed him. He played a huge role in all of our development as students, and that is truly a treasure and debt we could never repay to someone who genuinely cared about us and our success.

If you're thinking of making a change in your life as a serious developer, I highly recommend applying to Flatiron for the biggest opportunity to change your life. It helped me change mine, and now I feel like I have all the power of the universe in the palm of my hand.

Here is a link to their website:
https://www.flatironschool.com/

Side Note From Author:

Please don't forget to follow me! I like to post mostly about code and tutorials. You can also find me on Twitter! @MattPDev

Top comments (0)