DEV Community

mg 🌵
mg 🌵

Posted on

What have you automated?

You can talk about everyday stuff, fun things, anything really... Big or small...

I'll start: a year ago, I automated apartment hunting and I'm happy to report I found one. To do it, I built multiple scrappers in nodejs. Every time there was a new apartment matching my requirements, it would notify me and add a new line to a google spreadsheet.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
adamthewizard profile image
Adam

Me and my girlfriend hate doing the shopping because it takes forever to come up with all the meal ideas and snacks and stuff so I made a little website where I can click a button and get a random list of 7 snacks, meals, deserts etc. So it chooses for me! It uses arrays of items I add to whenever I think of something new or nice - at some point I'll add the ability add the list to the tescos app for easy ordering! It makes shopping much easier! ✌🏻😁

Collapse
 
mauro_goncalo profile image
mg 🌵

Very nice! Is it open source or online?