DEV Community

Cover image for How to ask questions to get the answers you want quickly and not annoy your colleagues
max-arshinov
max-arshinov

Posted on

How to ask questions to get the answers you want quickly and not annoy your colleagues

Have you ever heard a question like this: “Could you help me, please? This software/hardware/etc. isn’t working”? Could you provide an answer without asking additional questions in turn? Probably human beings often can’t see themselves from the outside because of our nature. When we need something badly, we sometimes behave irrationally. So what’s the problem?

No one can answer this kind of question without asking something like, “ok, could you give me some details, please?” So that the real conversation begins once you define the problem accurately. In many cases, it takes longer to formulate the problem than to provide the solution. Also, often you can do it on your own. Thus, you will save the time of the person whose help you are looking for. He/she will appreciate your effort.

The question format that helps

  1. Describe your intention. It’s essential because otherwise, the interlocutor will have to guess what your plans are. He/she can imply that you need something else and give you a brilliant piece of advice, which, unfortunately, is only applicable in circumstances that are different from yours.
  2. Briefly describe what you have already done to resolve the problem and why it didn’t help. Be precise, but not too wordy. Ideally, you should be able to express yourself in a sentence or in two-three sentences. Too short and too long explanations are equally bad. Too brief descriptions probably lack crucial details, while too long stories take more time to listen or read.
  3. Explicitly ask the question and include the limitations.
  4. Before asking a human, try to google it first.

Bad

HELP! Video doesn't work properly on my laptop!

Good

The situation

I am using APPLE MacBook Pro MVVL2RU/A, 16" macOS Catalina 10.15.6. I need to open my-awesome-video.mkv file.

What have you already done to resolve the situation?

When I click on the file, the system shows that I don’t have the proper software to open it.

Your question

Do I need to install the software? What kind of software do I need? Can I get a free one?

Your limitations

If not, I am only willing to pay $50 or less.

Top comments (0)