DEV Community

Cover image for An open letter to my future self
Max Zander
Max Zander

Posted on

An open letter to my future self

Hey Max,

How's it going? I've been thinking about you a lot lately. Whenever I start learning a new skill or reinforce an old one, I think of you. Each time I get word that a company has decided to go in a different direction, you pop into my head. I know it isn't wise to get attached to a job you don't have, but I guess that logic hasn't stopped me from doing so. But when I think about you and how happy to you are at your job, I know that both of us are exactly where we are supposed to be.

I also wanted to write to tell you how proud I am of you. You kept going even when the going got tough. You took a thing that you thought was cool and you learned it and turned it into a career. You've surpassed anything that you thought was possible and continue to learn. You're getting that experience that I'm currently lacking and want so badly to have. That's amazing. I'm thrilled and again, I'm so crazy proud of you. You've (hopefully) found a great group of people to work with and to grow with and I hope that you are using your experience to help encourage others who are just starting out and feeling the way you felt. It is definitely hard to spend so much time with what at times seems like no payoff, but you realized that there is a payoff and it's worth the wait. I admire that.

There's a lot I can learn from you and at the end of the day, I guess that's kinda why I think about you so much. Eventually, I will just be a memory and I guess you'll be grateful for the journey I'm on. I need to remember that more. Hell, I have a lot to be grateful for now and as I sit here thinking about you, I'm becoming extra aware of that. I guess I owe you that too, so thanks for that too.

Anyway, thanks for sticking with it. I can't wait to catch up to you — I know you're doing amazing things!

Looking forward and working hard,

Max

Top comments (0)