DEV Community

Cover image for My Project: SmartHub
Max
Max

Posted on

My Project: SmartHub

I started this project last year after my university degree. Where I started with a decentralized smarthome and moved to a monolithic server over time. I learned a lot (refactored very often 😁).
For a long time I plan to write about this idea/project and now that the Hacktoberfest is coming up, I see this as a perfect opportunity.
I have very little skills in maintaining projects, I suppose I could learn it this year.

Idea

The Idea behind Smarthub is to make smarthome software on raspberry pis etc. more accessible to the average person, by making the installation and the Ui as easy as possible. But also having more advanced features and configurations for the users who wants them.

Why ??

I know there is already a lot of software out there like OpenHAB, Home Assistant, etc.... So why write it myself?

My goal is that I can completely use SmartHub at my home and make it an open source project where everyone (especially beginners) can try out, learn new things and contribute.


There are multiple repositorys under Smarthub-Io, one is for the actual project, one for documantation and one for plugins.

I have also written a small plugin for some shelly devices and so far it would work over http.(After moving i need to reinstall my ledstrips again.)
And at the moment there aren't all basic features implemented, like adding devices over the Ui, propper CI/CD, and some things are still a bit hacky even in development, but it's getting close to be smoothened out over time.


Feel free to check out any of these repos. 🚀
The project is still at its early stage, so please check it out and show some love. Leave a star if you like it. 😊

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
lucianojung profile image
Luciano Jung

Love your Smart Home Project 😍