DEV Community

Mayank Soni
Mayank Soni

Posted on

My Experience Building A Python Project

My Final Project:

FaceAttend - It's an attendance recording system that uses the power of facial recognition (through OpenCV) and marks attendance by detecting faces from the camera without redundantly capturing them more than once. It also has a feature that lets you see the analytical data of a particular student/class for determining the performance of either one.

Link to Code:

GitHub logo mayanxoni / FaceAttend

Project for MCA final year. For more, README.

FaceAttend

Build Status

FaceAttend is a minor project for the final year of my MCA course work. It is an attendance management software that harnesses the power of ML and AI (in a broad sense) to record attendance using Facial Recognition. It is built upon Python and uses OpenCV library to recognise faces from live video feed or even a picture.

Features

  • Manual Attendance
  • Automatic Attendance
  • Update Attendance (Manually)

References

FaceAttend is developed with the help of a number of references from the Internet:

  • Codacus - OpenCV and Python Tutorial
  • OpenCV - Cascade Classifier

Installation

FaceAttend requires Python v3.7+ to run.

Once installed, run the following commands in your system shell to install necessary packages:

$ pip install opencv-contrib-python
$ pip install opencv-python
$ pip install numpy
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

License

MIT

Is it free? Hell yeah!






How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?):

I used Python 3.7.2 along with Qt for building it's beautiful GUI that helps it look more professional than it is. I thought it would be impossible for me to build a project under 4 months using a language that I thought was horrible but with the help of open-source content available on GitHub and open forums like Stackoverflow, I was able to pull it off easily.

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories:

I feel that building a solution using a particular language/stack should not matter as long as you think that the solution you're building itself is a life-changing product.

Top comments (0)