DEV Community

mazhape
mazhape

Posted on

Being a Good Software Developer

As a new developer, I have learned several valuable lessons that have helped me grow in my role. These lessons include being open to learning, constantly learning, and staying relevant. Engineers must constantly challenge existing practices to achieve greater efficiency, which requires continuous learning.

A good developer keeps learning and learns faster, as software development changes much faster, making older ideas and methods obsolete quickly. As a developer, I often find myself aiming at a moving target, which is exciting. This has influenced me to never be satisfied with what I know and always seek to learn more and expand my capabilities.

Learning is a gradual process, and it is important for engineers to demonstrate their knowledge before starting a project. In contrast, developers should get comfortable with learning on the job, as clients want to know if they have what it takes to figure out what it takes.

It was difficult for me to shift from having to prove the plan from the get-go as an engineer, but over time, I realized that as a developer, I needed to prove myself, as the plan would likely mutate along the way.

In summary, being open to learning, constantly learning, and trusting in one's abilities have been keys to my growth as a developer. As a developer, I have learned that it is essential to continually learn and adapt to new challenges and technologies, as well as to be open to learning and adapting to new challenges.

Top comments (0)