DEV Community

Cover image for Cloud Resume Challenge - AWS
Monique Bennett-Lowe
Monique Bennett-Lowe

Posted on • Updated on

Cloud Resume Challenge - AWS

So one of my weekend projects was to take on the challenge The Cloud Resume Challenge - AWS. I was ready for this challenge and excited to begin. I found a HTML/CSS template I liked and was ready to roll. I also found and followed along with a great tutorial.

Setting up the DNS re-routes and adding the https protocol via CloudFront was very interesting. I've never worked with DNS/CNAMES records during any of my Full-Stack Development trainings so reviewing this process was new. However, after completing all the steps, I was unable to get both my css and images to load. See Network errors below. After much research and assistance from a fellow Meetup group member, I had to update my local css and image source files that were being served by AWS.

Image description

For steps 7-9, I took an easier route that accomplished all the steps based on my understanding. While researching, I came across a counter and plugged in their JavaScript. This site appears to host the counter data on their servers database and will serve up the count via hits to their API.

7. Javascript
Your resume webpage should include a visitor counter that displays how many people have accessed the site. You will need to write a bit of Javascript to make this happen.

8. Database
The visitor counter will need to retrieve and update its count in a database somewhere. I suggest you use Amazon’s DynamoDB for this. (Use on-demand pricing for the database and you’ll pay essentially nothing, unless you store or retrieve much more data than this project requires.)

9. API
Do not communicate directly with DynamoDB from your Javascript code. Instead, you will need to create an API that accepts requests from your web app and communicates with the database. I suggest using AWS’s API Gateway and Lambda services for this.

My favorite part of the challenge was step 13, see below. Learning about the automation process of AWS CI/CD. I was able to add my Github repositories using GitHub Apps which then triggers and event and automatically apply updates and deploy to S3. The stack used was GITHUB + AWSCodePipeLine + AWSS3.

13. Source Control
You do not want to be updating either your back-end API or your front-end website by making calls from your laptop, though. You want them to update automatically whenever you make a change to the code. (This is called continuous integration and deployment, or CI/CD.) Create a GitHub repository for your backend code.

Check out my project Portfolio Resume -www.moniquebennettlowe.com

Share your thoughts :)

Top comments (0)