DEV Community

Maxwell Cofie
Maxwell Cofie

Posted on

Weeny - A tiny Design System with a purpose

Weeny

Yes! Otherwise tiny is my very first attempt at building a tiny as the name suggests and simple design system for an imaginary or yet to be built trivia quiz app for web and mobile (Android & iOS). I suppose if you want an in-depth knowledge on what a design system is, you can head on to this that has a comprehensive write up on the subject.

Why do I want to do this?
The promises of design system to an organisation / digital product that is poised to scale are enormous and the learnings I’m going to garner from this expedition puts me in a position to get my hands dirty.

Consistency is primarily one of the main reasons an organisation will attempt doing this exercise. Especially when the team is growing, so as the product offerings of the company, there comes an inherent need to ensure the product sings the same song across board, the look & feel or the brand identity of the company is carried across the entire product. It could also enhance the speed at which features are rolled out at least in fast moving organisation where going quick to market is of great value.

A good place to start of with building a design system is normally from an existing product, where some learnings/findings could be drawn from and the right and essential visual language, patterns , components could be built.

In my case Weeny is design system for an imaginary trivia quiz app (not a production product yet). Who knows we could have a full fledged product at the end 🤞🏽. It’s a multi-platform design system meaning there’s going to be a web version in ( reactjs & vuejs) and mobile Android (Jetpack compose) iOS (either in Swift UI or in code )

What’s the plan of execution?
I’m starting of by documenting everything in Figma where I give a breakdown of the core principles and standards of Weeny, outline the components, foundations, design tokens and the like.

This is a write up to register my interest. Watch here and there for periodic updates. I’ll also endeavour to share my learnings and progress along the way. Catch you on the next one ✌🏽.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ddaypunk profile image
Andy Delso

Lurking! Interested in seeing where you go with this as I sit on the design system committee at work representing the Android team.