DEV Community

Carolyn Stransky for Meeshkan

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at meeshkan.com

Resources for learning Python in 2020

Earlier this week, I learned that I'll be working less on unmock-js and more our latest open-source namesake, Meeshkan. The main difference? Meeshkan is written in Python... which I've never used before πŸ™€

So I asked folks on Twitter for their favorite Python resources and gathered them into a little list (in no particular order). Enjoy!

Table of Contents

Books πŸ“š

Courses ✏️

Tutorials πŸ“ƒ

Videos πŸ“Ή

Your Recommendations πŸ’¬

Have any resources you think should be on this list? Comment below!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
fodil_k profile image
Faudil • Edited

Very helpfull thanks πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ I just want to know if it's efficient to balance between these resources or just take one and focus on it ? Cs I tried the first one and I got completely lost and I don't want to be like a butterfly flying from course to another,, any advices it's will be extremely helpfull!

Collapse
 
carolstran profile image
Carolyn Stransky

Thanks for commenting ☺️ I would guess that it depends on your learning style and what exactly you’re trying to learn.

I personally tend to stick with one resources when I’m doing more general language learning (like now I’m doing Codecademy for Python) then move on if it either isn’t working for me or I’ve gotten what I need out of it.

Collapse
 
fodil_k profile image
Faudil • Edited

Thanks again and thanks for ur time wish u a good luck ! πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
orlalara profile image
Orlando Lara

Hello Carolyn. Actually, the Python 3 course in Codecademy is pretty good. I finished the Computer Science path there, which is 100% python. Depending on what you will be doing, you can take that route, or the Data Science Path, which is also in Python.

About the books, everybody talks about Automate the boring Stuff, i have it but it's still in my TODO list. Personally, i don't like long lists, it leads to procrastination 🀣 just pick one and go, you won't be wrong.

Collapse
 
carolstran profile image
Carolyn Stransky

Yeah I’m working through the Learn Python 3 course on Codecademy now and enjoying it! I didn’t know the CS route was all Python, I’ll have to look into that as well. Thanks for the tip πŸ’

Collapse
 
sobolevn profile image
Nikita Sobolev

I would also recommend to use a good linter to make sure that you learn ideomatic python from the very start.

My tool of choice is wemake-python-styleguide. Check it out:

GitHub logo wemake-services / wemake-python-styleguide

The strictest and most opinionated python linter ever!

wemake-python-styleguide

wemake.services Supporters Build Status Coverage Status Github Action Python Version wemake-python-styleguide


Welcome to the strictest and most opinionated python linter ever.

wemake-python-styleguide logo

wemake-python-styleguide is actually a flake8 plugin with some other plugins as dependencies.

Quickstart

pip install wemake-python-styleguide

You will also need to create a setup.cfg file with the configuration.

We highly recommend to also use:

  • flakehell for easy integration into a legacy codebase
  • nitpick for sharing and validating configuration across multiple projects

Running

flake8 your_module.py

This app is still just good old flake8 And it won't change your existing workflow.

invocation resuts

See "Usage" section in the docs for examples and integrations.

We also support Github Actions as first class-citizens Try it out!

What we are about

The ultimate goal of this project is to make all people write exactly the same python code.

flake8 pylint black mypy wemake-python-styleguide
Formats code? ❌ ❌ βœ… ❌ ❌
Finds style issues? πŸ€” βœ… πŸ€” ❌ βœ…
Finds bugs? πŸ€” βœ… ❌
…