DEV Community

Cover image for 2020 in review
Michael Currin
Michael Currin

Posted on

2020 in review

The year 2020 was tough on everyone. A few times I lost my inspiration and motivation. But I also built some cool stuff and connected with people.

This post covers some of those highlights.

Blogging

I got in the habit of blogging a lot. I had enthusiastic responses on my two most popular posts of 2020:

I got really into Functional Programming this year and did a 6-part post series on it.

New technologies

I learnt how to use Vue and TypeScript. And then combined them here:

I also learnt a lot about Lambdas, queues and Terraform as part of my job.

Coaching

I mentored a few people at work. I coached some outside work like on how to build a Jekyll site.

Open source

I contributed to a lot of open source repos, which is rewarding and good use of my skills around something bigger than my problems and knowledge.

I figured out way of view all the Pull Requests I made that got merged into the original repo owned by someone else.

Link

Using query: is:pr author:MichaelCurrin archived:false -user:MichaelCurrin is:merged

New sites

I came up with new Jekyll-based projects to collect code samples and links, to make my life easier and to share my knowledge with others.

Credits

Cover image by Karsten Würth on Unsplash

Top comments (0)