DEV Community

Cover image for 7 months ago I published the app that allows you to adjust your WebCamera exposure - those are the stats!
Michal Rogowski
Michal Rogowski

Posted on

7 months ago I published the app that allows you to adjust your WebCamera exposure - those are the stats!

About a year ago during my 1:1 my boss told me that my face is barely visible because of the window in the background and that I should do something about it. Obviously I bough some apps in the Mac App Store - but all of them were not supporting my web camera. As an engineering manager and ex iOS software engineer I decided that I have to fix it and I've build the new app that would support most of the web cameras because of it's primitive functionality and that's how Exposure Adjustor was born.

So the idea is:

  1. Cover (with your hand) the part of your camera(lens) that is exposed to too much light
  2. Press Lock button to "lock" the current exposure
  3. Enjoy

Till now I haven't advertise my app in any way and those are the stats: (I released 7 months ago)

  • Sales: 98.94$
  • Proceeds: 76.83$
  • Units: 44
    • Europe - 19
    • USA & Canada - 17
    • Asia Pacific - 6
    • Latin America & The Caribbean - 2
  • Rating: 5.0 (3 reviews 😂)

This is the first app I've done and published for myself and not for the company or a client. Every sale is surprisingly satisfying and makes me really happy that someone is able to use it and is happy with what they've bought - I got 2 emails saying that it's a very cool app as it does exactly what it says on the tin.

Top comments (0)