DEV Community

michTheBrandofficial
michTheBrandofficial

Posted on

Should I really make my project open source???

I want to make a recent project of mine open-source, but I am not really sure on how to get people to know and help me on the project, in fact, I have never really done any open source project before.

If you have an answer to my question, please answer in the comment section.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
michthebrandofficial profile image
michTheBrandofficial

I have read all the comments here and I cannot thank you guys enough. Thank you, thank you a lot.

Anyway, the name of the project is NixixJS, a lightweight framework that will has similar syntax to React, uses jsx, babel and a module bundler that I have not picked yet.

It is open to contribution on github.
The link? github.com/michTheBrandofficial/Ni...

Collapse
 
michthebrandofficial profile image
michTheBrandofficial

*will have

Collapse
 
tlylt profile image
Liu Yongliang

Getting people to know and help out involves a number of factors:

  • are people actively using the project?
  • is the project contributor-friendly?
  • and more…

It is probably not the best reason behind open sourcing a new project. But, you can always promote/talk/write about your project, explicitly mention that it’s open-sourced & welcoming contributions, and see how it goes :)

Collapse
 
dmcginley profile image
Donnchadh Mc Ginley

If you can see yourself maintaining it or don't mind passing the development on, then yes. If it's a good project or one that can grow to be a better project then keeping it alive is a plus.

Collapse
 
dixonw45 profile image
Hadeh

yeah you should make it open source