DEV Community

Sam
Sam

Posted on

Discovering Flask

I recently finished an assignment from my bootcamp utilizing Flask and Jinja, and I have to say I'm really enjoying my first time experimenting with more back-end materials. Getting to see how file redirections (app.route() stuff) and search queries work in the grand scheme of things was absolutely fascinating to me. It's like there was a click; In the past I always wondered what went on in the search bar of a webpage, that massive string of letters and numbers and punctuation seemed like some crazy random AI generated code that magically turned into a webpage. Now I understand how you get directed from one page to another, how the styles can all stay the same thanks to a base html and css file, how data gets transferred through the query string...

I really thought when I started out that I'd want to be a front-end developer (primarily), but my excitement to keep learning about the back-end is making me question things. Even despite the occasional frustration with not being able to clearly, visually See what's wrong when an error is thrown (vs, you know, a page section turning upside down and put on the wrong z-axis), I've found that everything is incredibly logical and back-end debugging isn't as scary as I initially thought.

I've been having a little bit of trouble just memorizing the syntax for pulling inputs from the submission forms (and then the syntax to utilize it- how to borrow information back and forth between python and html), but I'm trying to code along with the videos and practice a bit on my own to get that imprinted on my brain. Has anyone else had difficulty with this? Maybe any good websites with exercises for ways to practice this kind of stuff, or personal suggestions on things to try to make that would utilize flask and python and forms/arguments?

Top comments (0)