DEV Community

Cover image for SAP BTP on Kyma Runtime: PAIN
Pawel Wolanski
Pawel Wolanski

Posted on

SAP BTP on Kyma Runtime: PAIN

Recently I have been playing around with SAP BTP on Kyma. I have to confess, that is provided with a hell of chaotic documentation.
One reason is that is caused by being hosted on Kyma. I have nothing to Kyma itself as it is runtime based on rock solid Kubernetes, so what could go wrong… In fact, most fuss is caused by technical debt and lack of documentation update to include Kyma.
Initially, SAP BTP was designed to be run on Cloud Foundry, but due to well known CF downsides. If you're looking for more details about that, I do recommend reading two articles:

So, what is the issue... Let me list you just a few.

Kyma Deprecations

Kyma's technical stack changes a lot:

There is more of that on What's New 2021 and What's New 2023

Looking at diagram from December 2021 that is updated version for 2023:

Image description

I do not want to judge all these changes (although missing out Grafana and all logging date is huge bummer, especially, that with e.g. AWS K8s you get basic monitoring and logging for free, just for development purposes)

Second thing is… that documentation doesn't provide sample solution which just works. I have tried one how to migrate from ORY Hydra and failed. I also asked a skilled colleague in BTP and also failed.

That way of documentation delivery isn't working.

Top comments (0)