DEV Community

Cover image for Learning Qbasic
Mince
Mince

Posted on

Learning Qbasic

Today, you will be witnessing me go back to 1991 and code a game inside of it. We will be using a programming language that came freshly new. It is QBASIC!

Crying within myself

If you don't know QBasic is a very old, outdated and a bad programming language but no offence. Cuz, today we will do the undone and try to make a terminal based game that can only NVidia GeForce rtx 4090 suprim.

It's $3000 and it's just a graphics card. This is 3 times an iPhone 15 pro max's cost

Ok, hmm... I take my word back. But let's just start coding

HOUR 1

I learnt the basics of QBasic like how to print something into the terminal, if statements in QBasic and finally how do we take input from the user in QBasic. It was pretty similar to that of python syntax. Everything was too easy that it felt powerless. I am stoked that this belongs to 1991. So here is the guide

To print something to the terminal

PRINT "I HATE THE NEW MINECRAFT TRAILER";
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Oh yes guys I did not like the new minecraft trailer. Full post in medium

HOUR 2

I brainstormed a game and thought yes I am ready to make this. It's a really fun game idea. And decided the name working and everything and started to code. Umm.... It won't work. What the ????

No input with int ???

I did'nt understand anything

There was never any stack overflow or github post. I could only make a stupid caluclator.

Uh...

I am depressed

Ughh 😩 this was a big mistake

HOUR 3

I just want say

Top comments (0)