DEV Community

Cover image for How I Use Obsidian As A Creative - Part 3
heymichellemac
heymichellemac

Posted on

How I Use Obsidian As A Creative - Part 3

Welcome to part three of a four-part series where I share with you how I use Obsidian as a creative.

It's an extensive look at how my Obsidian vault is setup and how I use it to store my thoughts, learnings, and ideas.

Today we're going to talk about the following two directories: Literature + Evergreen.


02-literature

The Literature directory contains notes for all the content I consume and learn from. This includes articles, books, videos, courses, and even social media posts.

Naming Format

I start each note with the content type:

  • {a} - article
  • {b} - book
  • {v} - video

Then I simply include the name of the book, article, or video.

Labels

The labels I use depend on the type of content:

  • #literature/article - article
  • #literature/book - book
  • #literature/video - video

Literature Note Templates

The template I use will vary depending on the type of content:

Article Template

This is for notes based on the articles I read.

I clip articles from the web into a Notion DB. You can check out my Notion Library Tour to see how I capture this content.

Once I've read an article and taken rough notes, I create an Article note in Obsidian and refine my notes.

# {{title}}
URL:[Article Link]()
URL:[Notion Link]()
Source:
Tags: #literature/article
Topics:
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Book Template

This is for notes based on the books I read. Similar to Article notes, Book notes start life in Notion and are then refined in Obsidian.

I publish the book notes I create here on my website as well as add them to my Knowledge Vault of Digital Notes.

# {{title}}
Author:
Tags: #literature/book
Topic:
URL:[Notion Book Notes]()
URL:[Mishacreatrix Book Notes]()

## The Book In 3 Sentences
## Who Should Read This Book?
## How The Book Changed Me
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Video Template

This is for notes based on videos I watch.

# {{title}}
URL:[Video Link]()
URL:[Notion Link]()
Channel:
Tags: #literature/video
Topics:
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

03-evergreen

The Evergreen directory contains all my evergreen notes.

There are lots of definitions of evergreen notes but for me, these are atomic ideas or concepts that I find useful, I learn something from, and are interesting to me.

Naming Format

There is no naming convention for these types of notes, I just try to make sure they are understandable out of context as they should stand on their own.

Labels

These types of notes are labeled: #evergreen.

Evergreen Note Template

This is a simple template with the tags, topics, note content itself, then the source at the bottom of the note.

Tags: #evergreen
Topics:


Source:
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

That's it for this part of the series. The next post will be released next Monday.

In the meantime you can read the original article I wrote over on my website: A Walkthrough Of My Obsidian Setup

Top comments (0)