DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Michelle Mannering
Michelle Mannering

Posted on • Updated on

The value of pair programming • solving problems, making fixes

I recently learned the value of pair programming on one of my live streams. I'm very much one of those people who learns by doing, and learns with others around me. I did well in a classroom setting and I loved having "study parties" at uni.

When I heard about the concept of pair programming, it really interested me. It was at a conference a year or so ago; The idea of sitting down with someone and learning together. It's such a great idea and learning style I find valuable. Why I didn't do it sooner is probably due to COVID-19, and partly due to the fact I forgot! 🤦 Until one of my recent live streams.

I've been streaming a pair bit and I love people dropping into my streams to help out. Pointing out spelling errors, syntax problems, and giving tips on how to make my code better.

It wasn't until this week when I was really stuck that one of my regulars said "get me on Discord now". I was like "oh yeah, that's a thing, let's do it." In minutes we had everything figured out and fixed. It's so much easier chatting through an issue than over delayed live stream texting!

I learned by doing, and I learned by being randomly thrown into a tricky situation. If you haven't tried out pair programming do it today.

Pair programming at it's finest

Pair programming is really fun, but what if you don't have someone to do it with? What if you don't even know what it's all about? Well, myself and one of my colleagues Bdougie can show you show it's done. Join us this Friday (Thursday for everyone in PT zone), for our Open Source Friday stream special. We'll be talking through how to create a chatbot to integrate with Twitch and GitHub.

Top comments (0)