DEV Community

Jace
Jace

Posted on

The path to CKA, and some tips.

Yes, I passed the CKA exam.πŸ‘

Since I have already been working with kubernetes for yeas. The way I prepare CKA and the schedule I made might not suit for the beginners. But, still, some of the tips and resources can be shared.

Resources

  1. Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) with Practice Tests

I highly recommend this course. It contains the sufficient lecture for the CKA test. Most of all, the hands-on labs have good coverage for the skill you need for the CKA test.

  1. Tasks tab in official k8s doc. There are lots of hand-on task in the task tab of official document. And some of them is important for the test.

Tips and advice

  1. A least know how to use tmux!
    Your test environment might have a chance to be extremely slow.
    There was one question that took me a lot of time to wait for the command execution to be finished.
    At the first attempt, I wait for about 5 mins. But the command still stuck there. I have no choice but to kill that command and skip to another questions. When I finished the rest of all question, I still have about 15~20 minutes. So I typed the same correct command again and wait for the execution to be finished. But in the end, those 15~20 minutes is not enough.
    If I know the basic usage of tmux, I can keep that command being running, in a meanwhile, I can double check my answers.

  2. Get familiar with kubectl run
    Get familiar with this command, it can generate yaml templates for pods, depolyments. And save you lots of time.

  3. Tips for The Certified Kubernetes Exams: CKA and CKAD in 2020
    Special thanks for Derek who leaved a tips in my first article about preparing CKA.

Top comments (0)