DEV Community

MJ Abadilla
MJ Abadilla

Posted on • Updated on

Visual Studio Code debugging for TypeScript files and Mocha

I found this great article. A little outdated but still worked after some tinkering.

Debugging TypeScript in VS Code without compiling, using ts-node

If you run into issues check my configuration:

https://gist.github.com/mjmaix/749de8954c9c6777c08641151ae519b5

===
So this is why I need to debug.

I'm not really into algorithms and competitive programming but I feel like my brain needs some practice so I started LeetCode-ing. Not a fan of the interface so I made a VSCode project setup with TS/Mocha. (Is anyone interested with the template?)

Sometimes my brain can't handle the stress of console logging so I need to step by step understand the code/process I'm in.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
mkvl profile image
Max Kovalevskii • Edited

what is VIRTUAL studio code? -)

Collapse
 
mjmaix profile image
MJ Abadilla

Thank you for pointing it out. Lol

Collapse
 
k3rnel_err0r profile image
Antonio Quintero-Felizzola

😂