DEV Community

Cover image for Graduated From Front End Nanodegree
Mohamed Khaled Yousef
Mohamed Khaled Yousef

Posted on • Updated on

Graduated From Front End Nanodegree

This week I finished the Front End Nanodegree from Udacity and Google

Alt text of image
Here you can read two things, First the story behind how I started to learn web development and second what I get from Udacity Nanodegree?

Yeah! Finally I've graduated! I did it after 9 months of intense learning and dedicated work. I remember every lesson, problem and project I faced. In fact, I remember everything that happened more than 6 months ago.

What! For more accurate since more than 9 months...

Since the announcement of the scholarship then I began applying and then when I got accepted to start the nanodegree. Really I was so honored to get selected among 10,000 students to a 3-month challenge offered by Udacity and Google and then become one of the 10% awarded a full-scholarship to receive a 6-month Google Developer Nanodegree.
I remember these moments when I checked my email, WOW :)
There Udacity asked us to write an inspirational stories before the beginning of the Nanodegree. I tried to write a simple one:
Alt Stack
Alt Stack
Alt Stack

Here the bright spots that I learned

I learned about Accessibility, OOP JS techniques, closures, the "this" keyword, Testing tools and the new ES6 specification. I learned also how to use APIs to fetch data for the applications, How to use the Git version control system and how to build offline capable websites. Finally I learned about the power of the React UI library.

Here you can find all Nanodegree's projects

Last thing I want to say is looking back, Things weren’t easy for me a year before .

Before starting the Nanodegree I had a lot of feelings and fears, I feel scared because I always felt that I needed more learning so I thought that the market needs more skills than me. I thought there x - technology, concept and trend that I should not only know but it must be mastered.
I know this may be a negative point in my personality and this makes me afraid to apply to a job because I think I am not qualified to.
Anyway I try to get rid of the fear that I suffered from and now I think I have some confidence in my skills and what I can do well.

Finally from here, Really thanks to all community, mentors and reviewers and special thanks to Google and Udacity on this amazing journey to get this certificate

Alt Stack

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
imben1109 profile image
Ben

When would the next opening of this program?

Collapse
 
this_mkhy profile image
Mohamed Khaled Yousef

Really I don't know when, But you can check here to get notified when it will open: udacity.com/scholarships

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Congratulations Mohamed! :-)

Collapse
 
rafaacioly profile image
Rafael Acioly

Congratulations!