DEV Community

Cover image for Tech Communities: Important Secrets Everyone Should Know
Confidence Ufuoma for MLSA UNILAG

Posted on

Tech Communities: Important Secrets Everyone Should Know

"I just started learning tech and I feel so lost. I feel alone, and it’s making me want to quit."

"Where do I even get the resources I need to keep going on my tech journey?"

"There are too many resources. I feel overwhelmed. How do I know which one to stick with?"

"How do I find accountability partners or even mentors?"

…and the questions keep coming.

I’m thrilled to tell you that the answer to all these questions can be summed up in a 9-letter word: C-O-M-M-U-N-I-T-Y. Surprised? Read to the end.

What is a Community?

I love how Google’s Gemini keeps the definition simple:

"A community is essentially a group of people who share a common identity, interest, or location." You either join a community where you share a common identity, interest, or location.

Why Join a Tech Community as a Techie?

From my experience in different communities, I can easily pinpoint several reasons why people join them. Here are a few:

  • Self-development
  • Networking
  • Resources and opportunities
  • Internships
  • Volunteering roles
  • Motivation
  • Collaborations
  • Partners (someone somewhere is looking for a partner in a tech community. lol)
  • Mentorship

The Secrets of Tech Communities

Many of us are already in communities, but the big question is: How do we harness their power? How do we maximize their full potential? Here are 2 important secrets everyone should know:

1. Filter out your communities.

A lot of us have lost track of how many communities we’re in, but if we ask ourselves, how much have we gained from being in so many? Therein lies the problem. You need to be honest with yourself.

Here’s a simple template you can use to filter out communities:

  • Why did I join this community?
  • Since joining, what have I gained in terms of connections, resources, knowledge, etc.?

The purpose of filtering is to identify which communities you should focus on and which ones to leave. Imagine getting over 20,000+ messages from communities you never even open—what’s the point? I personally don’t like having a lot of unread messages.

2. Dedicate your time.

To truly leverage the power of a community, you need to pay attention. Read the messages, participate in activities, get to know some names, and even make friends. It’s up to you. It’s really about dedicating your time. As a wise woman once said, "Time is the only currency to cash out from communities." (And yes, I’m that wise woman—lol.)

Conclusion

Pardon the cliché, but I didn’t have to rack my brain too much for this quote:

"If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together." I believe this quote speaks for itself.

One thing I’ve realized on my tech journey is that the number of communities you’re in has nothing to do with how quickly you achieve your goals. Be intentional about the communities you’re part of, and thank me later.

Top comments (0)