DEV Community

Maxim Nosov ✪
Maxim Nosov ✪

Posted on

First contribution to a project

Hello!

Overal

It's been a great experience to make even a small change in a big project.

For the first issue, I had to replace the link that was leading to the wrong website. For me, the only struggling thing was that, I put a lot of time to understand the project structure, a lot of folders and subfolders, which is confusing at first glance, but as long as you spend some time, you will get used to it.

Broken build

Yes, not a typo, even though I broke the build with my small-changes PR, which is again I'm sorry for, I enjoyed working on a big project and making little changes to some parts.

There is not much code to share, since the first PR has little changes, but more to come !

The thing I was surprised about is how open everyone to new contributors. Project maintainers are very kind and helped me to resolve an issue I had.

Strong knowledge of git is very important

What I realized is that, you need to know git well. The basics of git branches, remotes, rebase, pull is a must.

Let's keep up, there is more to come :)

Top comments (0)