DEV Community

Marshall Ferguson
Marshall Ferguson

Posted on

#100DaysOfCode: Week 0

This is the first post in a series, documenting my journey through #100DaysOfCode.

Why #100DaysOfCode?
I wanted to do the #100DayOfCode challenge because I have started this journey before, but have not yet followed it to completion. That will change this time around! In my previous attempts at the challenge, I had always tried to learn coding by watching videos and doing tutorials. While this can be an essential part of the journey, it cannot be the entire journey. After taking to heart the idea of learning by doing I decided to recommit to learning to code by focusing on actually building projects.

Goals
The main focus of this attempt at #100DaysOfCode will be learning Python. From what I understand, Python has a wide range of use cases. Two main interests will be game development and data analysis/visualization. By the end of the 100 days, I hope to have at least 3-5 finished projects to show my work, and potentially 1 or 2 works in progress of a larger scope than the finished projects.

Plans
My plan to achieve these goals is to wake up 30-60 minutes earlier than usual and work on projects in the mornings. I have always been a bit of an early bird, so I plan to take advantage of time when no one else in the house is awake yet. Project wise, I will start out with a few projects that just use the command line with increasing complexity as I learn more about Python. I'm hoping one of the works in progress will be a game utilizing some type of GUI so that I can do other things besides just command line programs.

Why I'm Blogging
I want to document this journey so that I can look back on where I started. I also believe writing about my #100DaysOfCode journey will help solidify the concepts I am working on when coding. I will be tweeting daily about my progress through the challenge, as well as posting on this site weekly as more of a recap.

Thank you for reading my first post!

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
moferg profile image
Marshall Ferguson

After some thinking, I'm going to change to blogging every 10 days instead of every week. This is because it makes more sense to me to have 10 posts with 10 days each instead of ending this series with a post covering only the final 2 days. Thanks for reading and I hope you stay tuned for the rest of my posts!

Collapse
 
veganaise profile image
Antoine

I hope you reach your goals!

Collapse
 
moferg profile image
Marshall Ferguson

Thank you so much!

Collapse
 
asher_chan profile image
Asher Chan

Good luck! Hope you keep to it and build some projects. Can't wait to see the updates

Collapse
 
moferg profile image
Marshall Ferguson

Thank you for the kind words! The plan is to post an update every Sat or Sun after reflecting on the week for a bit.