DEV Community

Cover image for Do certification really matters..?
Mohit
Mohit

Posted on

Do certification really matters..?

Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn- Benjamin Franklin.

Something very apt to what I feel whenever I take up any certification. Generally, most people in the software industry either love or hate IT certifications. Some take this as proof that they are experts. For some, it is a money-making machine for companies, and these certifications don't hold any true value for them.

The truth, as always, is somewhere in the middle.

Certifications, in my opinion, are useful to validate your knowledge on the topic, not so that you can display the badges on LinkedIn (though I do this on occasion), but rather so that you can pursue targeted learning. It provides the fundamental knowledge needed to get experience, gives you a road map and organizes your learning.

I just passed the AZ-104(Azure Administrator Associate) and AZ-305(Designing Microsoft Azure Infrastructure Solutions) exams. Does that imply I have extensive knowledge of Azure? Not at all, no. I have never managed Azure for a full-fledged production project; I have only ever done it for my own personal projects. But I have discovered the fundamentals of the service by working toward the certifications, and I have demonstrated this through the tests. Am I going to present myself as an Azure expert or start consulting as one right away? No, but if I were looking for a new position, I would gladly highlight this achievement to demonstrate to a hiring manager that, despite my lack of experience, I do grasp the basics and have the motivation to move up. Your career is revitalized, which is sometimes necessary.

Consider pursuing a certification to start your educational journey if you feel trapped, overburdened, or unsure of where to focus your time to sharpen your saw.

We must never be too busy to take time to sharpen the saw- Stephen Covey

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

Overall this is a well authored opinion on the state of certifications. There are definitely certain certifications (ex: CCNA) that are worth their weight in gold and worthy of being suffixed to a name on your resume, but the vast majority of them are not turnkey career paths.

I would however, suggest that you not discount the lessons you've learned with Azure in a personal context; while it won't expose you to everything in a business/production environment, odds are it gives you a solid foundation to leverage in a role.