DEV Community

Monique Avila
Monique Avila

Posted on

My personal website!

Post graduation, hooray!

Hello world!

It's been roughly two weeks since I finished up the software engineering bootcamp with Colorado State University and Fullstack Academy. What have I done? Well for starters I made a brand new personal website page! I actually just finished up with it recently and am wanting to show it to the world!
Check it out here!

Before I begin to talk about my personal website, I would like to introduce myself! I'm Monique! I'm 31 and coming from a non-traditional background. I grew up always having such a fascination with computers and anything electronic really. I was the kid always fixing the wifi or the family computer. Still am.

As a bootcamp grad I've worked with what is known as the P.E.R.N stack or Postgres, Express, React and Node Js. I am currently learning Typescript as well as tailwind as I'll soon mention.

My goal is to now work towards getting a software developer job! I want to write about what project I've been working on or something new I've learned. Basically my journey from bootcamp grad to jr developer! I believe documenting my journey may help someone out there as well or at least that is my hope! Okay let's get into my new project!

To start out I learned a new CSS library called Tailwind CSS. I found it a lot easier to use because you can style as you go and for me that's perfect because I'm such a visual learner. Plus it goes great with saving a few seconds from having to switch over to your css file! I am definitely going to keep using this library. I found tailwind super beneficial for me because of how much I will write some code and go and add styles to it for my visual pleasure. So if you're a visual learner like myself I would highly recommend taking the time to make a project with tailwind and see if it improves your productivity.

I also used React scroll for a smooth scrolling experience when a user interacts with the navbar, React slider to showcase my portfolio with a corresponding description and a link to the project live url. This added to the simple design concept I was also aiming for with my site.

All in all this project taught me some new skills to add to my developer belt!

Thanks for reading my first blog ever! I hope to add a new perspective with my content along my journey and maybe even help someone learn something new.

Let's squash these bugs!

Top comments (0)