DEV Community

Jeremy
Jeremy

Posted on

Journey to Become a Better Programmer (Day: 4, Take a break)

Taking a break... until recently I didn't take breaks and would sit down/stand and just hammer my work out. I heard of a technique called the Pomodoro Technique from some fellow codders, before that, I have never heard of this and became very interested in it, this was about 7ish months ago. I really didn't think it was worth taking all those breaks and lose all that time to focus on my work. I started trying this technique about a week ago, and I must say its AMAZING! I would strongly suggest everyone at least try this.

What I learned:
If you are like me, I almost felt guilty about taking a break. I had this job that I worked so hard to get and I wanted to make them happy. This was a hard thing for me to get over and after a week of doing Pomodoro my quality of work has improved, I am able to really focus on something and then relax the brain and then hit it again. This leads me to what I found out today, because I wasn't stressing about taking a break, I allowed my brain to think about some home projects we have planned. After the break, I took a second a look at the problem and it was like the answer just came out of the screen and slapped me. I have added this extention to chrome and it really helps to stay on task/break. Remember to take a break, it's okay.
Alt Text

Top comments (0)