DEV Community

Cover image for Next.js Markdown Blog Starter Template
Morgan Spencer
Morgan Spencer

Posted on

Next.js Markdown Blog Starter Template

https://github.com/morganmspencer/next-markdown-blog-starter

I've recently found myself creating new blogs for demo and test projects. In fact, I've been doing it enough that I decided to create an open-source template using my repeated methodologies.

I decided to use Next for the framework of the site to take advantage of all the great features it has to offer, both static and dynamic. Not to mention it is incredibly easy to get set up.

I love the idea of not having a database for a blog, which is why I have been using markdown files (getting back to the original JAMstack!). Using a Github repo for this comes with all the benefits of version control that come in handy when managing a blog.

To avoid making content changes in VSCode, I integrated Netlify CMS to enable an editing workflow process. This allows me to add new content like posts, categories, and tags through a git workflow. It automatically creates PRs for changes and merges them to the main branch when you are ready to publish.

It ships with Tailwind installed but that can easily be removed without issue.

I made this project completely open-source and welcome any issues, feature requests or PRs on the repo. I plan to keep developing and perfecting this going forward, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

I can't wait to see what people make with it!

Top comments (0)