DEV Community

Moritz Weber
Moritz Weber

Posted on

How do you store/manage your knowledge?

I may be obsessed with this question for the last few weeks, as I started reading quite a few articles and began reading programming books. I know that I can't keep all the new information in my memory, so I need a preferably simple system to organize them.

The information I want to organize mainly comes in the form of online articles, interesting repositories/projects, notes to books I read, (YouTube) videos, perhaps a few PDFs and plain old text notes.

So far I haven't found the proper solution to my problem. I basically tried Pocket and Memex and had a look at Evernote. I am keen to learn how you solved this problem for yourselves.

I can't be the only one struggling with this, right?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
feras_darweesh profile image
Feras Darweesh • Edited

Fascinating question; I have the same challenge in my daily work
But let us break down this challenge into two categories:
1- The fragmented information -that you receive in the moment, and yet unable to link it to the whole storyboard, from my experience, I found "Google Keep" is best when it comes to such kind of information, especially with the capability quick search and retrieval, in addition to tagging.
2- The final knowledge, or what you may call compilation of the overall effort, I would agree that no fit solution in place, but I would recommend using mind mapping tools in conjunction with the keep tool. One available tool also for free is the maps under draw.io.
So here how things may get managed for you, use the mind mapping tool to build the skeleton or backbone of your experience or knowledge, and keep storing data google keeps.
Mind manager in drawo.io
Google Keep

Collapse
 
flai profile image
flai

Notion.so

Collapse
 
owsilva profile image
Walace Silva

I recommend you to use notion.so to save bit notes and to organize quick tasks. You could use Evernote to a lots project descriptions.

I hope help you