DEV Community

edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

Posted on

Who'd be interested in a kind of open CS lecture stream, and what would you like to have covered?

I'm thinking of doing a regular stream about computer science, things like algorithms, complexity, hardware, and all that stuff you might cover in a post-secondary education. I'd like it to be a live stream to encourage asking questions, but if there is no question I'll just go over fixed topics.

I'd like to know what types of things you'd like to have covered? Or any ideas you might find interesting.

I'd likely due this early day in CET/Berlin time. If there are any people awake at that time then let me know. I'll aways upload the videos here afterward, with the new video feature. I can then read comments and followup in the next video for those that can't watch live.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
nestedsoftware profile image
Nested Software

I personally tend to prefer articles as I can copy and paste code from examples and I can read at my own pace.

@vaidehijoshi seems to have some success with her videos. They seem to be aimed at somewhat of a beginner audience and I think focus mainly on basic algorithms/data structures. I don't know if you wanted to do the same kind of thing or not though.

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

I'm hoping to create a two-sided stream where people can ask questions live. Not needing a fixed script will also let me adapt and cover more topics -- like reflections on things I've done rather than polished videos.

Collapse
 
nestedsoftware profile image
Nested Software

This may work, but I'm a bit concerned about there being enough people when it's this live stream where the viewers are whoever happens to have some free time to watch.

Another option may be to record yourself doing a class. I've offered to do free courses in my area before, and they were usually pretty well attended. That way you know ahead of time that you have a certain number of captives, err I mean, students. When you get questions, you can repeat them for the video. I imagine there should be any number of reasonable options for a free or cheap place where they will provide you with a room and a projector (libraries, colleges, user groups, etc).

You could even live stream the class, so you'd get the best of both worlds. The downsides are that you have to get a bit organized about registering students and finding a venue. Also, that may force you to do the class in the evening or on a weekend when more people could attend and I don't know if that is a viable option given you mentioned a morning stream.

Collapse
 
_bigblind profile image
Frederik 👨‍💻➡️🌐 Creemers • Edited

Some tihngs I'm interested in:

-lower-level programming, especially more complex interactions between software and the OS, things like mmap.

  • nondeterministic data structures lik

  • Geometry-related algorithms (convex hull, nearest neighbour, ...)

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

I can do some low-level stuff at some point, but I think I'll start with easier things at first. I've written about OS level stuff before, but it's hard to visualize, and hard to find simple examples of (though being a compiler writer I'm full of complex examples :)

Collapse
 
lcortes_ profile image
Jose Luis

You can find a lot of resources in Github like this github.com/mvillaloboz/open-source... or this other github.com/mvillaloboz/open-source... there you can find a complete list of topics for CS

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

Excellent, a curriculum just waiting for me. :)

Though, you appear to have posted the same link twice.

Collapse
 
nestedsoftware profile image
Nested Software

One thing that occurred to me is that it would be cool to watch something about the basics of 3-d graphics. Maybe start with 2-d graphics showing translation and rotation of some basic shapes; then extend that to 3-d, showing how to display objects and/or functions in 3d.

Collapse
 
spirodonfl profile image
Spiro Floropoulos

I've asked for similar feedback here and on ycombinator. Didn't get much response. Curious if you have better success.