DEV Community

Dominic Myers
Dominic Myers

Posted on • Originally published at drmsite.blogspot.com on

User test, updated


By Jenn O'Hara

In my forthcoming book, I make significant use of a piece of research I carried out some years back on how users could enter data about their family. The example was contrived, but it served its purpose. I talk about how I could've used a SPA but that at that time I wasn't comfortable building them. I also wax lyrical about Native JavaScript Modules along with various other technologies, so last weekend and this I spent some time putting my money where my mouth is.

I set out to replicate the original statically hosted application using Vue, Vuex and Vue-Router, and I'm quite pleased with the result. Then I got a little carried away and updated Bootstrap from v3 to v4. I also dusted out my old Font-awesome account and threw taht into the mix, along with some SCSS, just for fun!

It's nigh on where I want it to be TBH, except I can't get the router to work correctly; going to any page other than the home page throws an error. Scratch that: I'm hosting on repl.it so I need to use the "hash" mode for the router rather than "history". Simples, eh?

I also ran the text through Grammarly.

Top comments (0)