DEV Community

MrPowerScripts
MrPowerScripts

Posted on • Originally published at mrpowerscripts.com on

The best node version manager - n

Nodejs is the javascript runtime that will not go away even though people have been complaining about it for a long time. Things get trickier when you add npm into the mix. Your project you want to work on might require an older version of nodejs, but you have the latest and greatest version installed.

The incredibly simple tool with a fitting name called - n - can help you quickly manage the version of node that you’re currently using.

Instructions to install n can be found right on their GitHub repository. The docs are really great, so I don’t think they need repeating here. There are of course other node version managers but I’ve found n to do everything I need. I can change the version of node with a quick and short command. If the version I want isn’t installed it will install it for me before switching to that version. What more could you ask for when all you need is a nodejs version manager? Definitely check it out if you’re looking for something simple.

Top comments (0)