DEV Community

Mandeep Singh
Mandeep Singh

Posted on • Updated on

Will you meet me? if I were to travel to Europe to explore dev/startup communities!

UPDATE: Hey, if any of you would like to talk with me, please ping me on skype[meSingh90]. Will love to know more about your local dev community and your city.

The short version :

I'm going for WebSummit in Lisbon this November and have been thinking about extending my stay to explore Europe's dev/startup communities. If I were to travel to your city, would you be interested in meeting and sharing some thoughts with me?

The extended version :

I'm always fascinated by the way developers work in different locations, what approaches they take to solve the most common problems, and how they build their systems.

I've been working as a freelance consultant from the last eight years and have been fortunate enough to work with more than 25 startups/companies in different scenarios and engagements. Although most of them have been near my location, still it has been fascinating to see how different they all have been.

Not just how to tackle everyday problems in their business but also how to find solutions (mostly hacks) to fix these problems.

These experiences have taught me a lot in my life, and now I want to expand my horizon and travel beyond my home country to see how developers all over the world do it and maybe work with them to understand them better.

I'm planning to visit Europe this November for WebSummit, and after that,​ I would love to travel more in Europe to different locations. So, if you can spare some time in November, even for a few hours of the day, please reach out to me. I will plan my trip according to the response I get and would love to meet you all.

BTW: I'm pretty good at #Laravel, so if there are any Laravel communities out there in Europe​, I will ​like to visit them too.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
rossdrew profile image
Ross • Edited

I run a Kotlin User Group in Edinburgh, if you come this far north I'll be running a group in November at my company (which happens to be a startup). It is Kotlin focused of course but perhaps an opportunity to network.

twitter.com/edi_kug

Collapse
 
msingh profile image
Mandeep Singh

Hey Ross, Thanks for the invite, really appreciate your help.

I'm not sure If I can make it that far. Considering I will have to take a separate visa for the UK, I might not be able to make it there, but that does not mean we can't have a discussion. Would you be willing to have a chat over skype? Please send me a request when you are available.

Thanks for your consideration, though.

Collapse
 
rikvanderkemp profile image
Rik van der Kemp

If you plan to go to The Netherlands, specifically Rotterdam let me know 👍😊

Collapse
 
msingh profile image
Mandeep Singh

Thanks for the invite Rik, I was thinking about going to Amsterdam, so you might be on my way.

Please send me your skype/whatsapp id, would love to talk with you 😀

Collapse
 
msingh profile image
Mandeep Singh

UPDATE: Hey, if any of you would like to talk with me, please ping me on skype[meSingh90]. Will love to know more about your local dev community and your city.