DEV Community

Cover image for From Code to Canvas: My Web Development Journey
Nana Okamoto
Nana Okamoto

Posted on

From Code to Canvas: My Web Development Journey

Hey Dev.to community! 👋
I’m Nana, a recent transplant from Japan to Vancouver, Canada.
With a background in software engineering, I've spent the past few years developing web applications for businesses.
After around three years in the software industry, I felt the drive to push my skills even further. Now, I'm here and ready to transform ideas into digital realities!

About Me 👤

Although my academic background in International Relations was enriching, I found myself increasingly drawn to the world of technology. The prospect of creating something impactful through coding was too exciting to resist. This passion led me to pivot towards software engineering, where I could blend creativity with problem-solving.

After making the transition, I joined a team in the software industry, eager to learn and contribute. Over the past three years, I’ve had the opportunity to design, develop, and test web applications. This role allowed me to collaborate with cross-functional teams to define project requirements and create wireframes.

I felt a strong drive to further improve my skills. As a result, I came to Vancouver, Canada, where I'm studying in the Web Development Course at Cornerstone International Community College of Canada. I'm excited about the future and look forward to contributing to innovative projects.

The First Week ✍️

The first week has been filled with learning and connecting. The course content is comprehensive, and I'm already sensing the challenges that lie ahead. I've also had the opportunity to meet classmates from diverse backgrounds. The instructors are fantastic as well. I want to contribute to the team through various projects.

My Goals 💫

Post-course, I’m aiming to land a role as a web developer, where I can leverage my software engineering skills alongside my new web dev expertise. I’m particularly interested in projects that enhance user experience through intuitive design and seamless functionality.

This journey is just beginning, and I’m excited to document it here on Dev.to. I’m looking forward to sharing my progress, learning from this amazing community. Stay tuned for more updates!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
samurai71 profile image
Mark Landeryou

Best of luck and welcome to Canada 🇨🇦