DEV Community

nabbisen
nabbisen

Posted on • Originally published at obsd.solutions

OpenBSD 7.3 on VirtualBox 7: Installation as guest OS failed due to I/O APIC enabled

Problem

With VirtualBox 7.0, installing OpenBSD 🐡 7.3 as guest on Artix Linux 🐧 as host failed.

It was because of vbox Settings, in which checked (by default) was System - Motherboard - "Enable I/O APIC"...🤕

Although I don't know it has something to do with the failure, I found VirtualBox documentation telling:

software support for I/O APICs has been unreliable with some OSes other than Windows.

Error

It happened just after I finished answering to the OpenBSD installer and installation began. (See the first line below.)

Installing bsd 0% (...)
dc_atapi_start: not ready, st = 40
fatal protection fault in supervisor mode
trap type 4 code 0 rip ff(...) cs 8 rflags 10286 cr2 42f9c8 cpl 6 rsp ff(...)
gsbase 0xff(...) kgsbase 0x0
panic: trap type 4, code=0, pc=ff(...)
syncing disks...6 6 (...)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Solution

I had to uncheck "Enable I/O APIC" of System - Motherboard in VirtualBox Settings to successfully install OpenBSD as guest.

uncheck-io-apic-in-vbox-settings

Anyway, it solved my problem 🙂


This post is based on my tweets.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
linuxguist profile image
Nathan S.R.

Very Helpful Post. Thanks.

Collapse
 
nabbisen profile image
nabbisen

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear it ☺️