DEV Community

Dan Jasnowski
Dan Jasnowski

Posted on

JavaScript RPG fun and open source

Hi there, I'm currently creating 'Delaford' - a fun 2D medieval RPG in JavaScript. It has all the modern hallmarks of a (traditional) RPG from inventory system to leveling to pathfinding and more.

A lot of it has not been written yet but you can help write it! Maybe you can add the next skill? (I just released Mining!) Maybe you can help create the Monsters class? So much to do.

https://github.com/delaford/game

It's been in development since early 2018 but has only seriously been worked in in the past few months when I have time.

We have documentation (somewhat) available. But, you can download it and just poke around if you'd like. It has a Node.js server, too!

Appreciate @BenHalpern for helping me find this place and I hope to collaborate with some of you and discuss ideas/tech here, too.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
michaelquinn profile image
Michael Quinn

Dan Jasnowski... I hate to tell you man but your life is super difficult sometimes isn't it? You know how I know? I am a Full-Stack Developer living in South Carolina. It is unreal how far we are behind sometimes. I am going to pitch in!

Collapse
 
iamjoross profile image
Jose Ross Barredo

Hey awesome guy! This is a great idea. I wanna get involved with this project. How do I start?

Collapse
 
naknode profile image
Dan Jasnowski

Hey, glad to hear it. Take a look around and get comfortable with the codebase. There are some easy issues to work on, if you'd like. Then, we can discuss more! :-D

Collapse
 
martyhimmel profile image
Martin Himmel • Edited

Love seeing projects like this. I'll help out when/where I can!

Collapse
 
naknode profile image
Dan Jasnowski

Thank you Martin! Can't wait for your contributions!

Collapse
 
naknode profile image
Dan Jasnowski

Of course! Like I Said before, the low-tier and easy issues would be a good place to start!