DEV Community

Nandini S Hinduja
Nandini S Hinduja

Posted on

What does a Computer Science and Engineering degree teach you?

Image description
So recently I had attended my graduation day and it made me ponder about what I learnt at college, so in this article I will share all the technical things which I learnt at college.

Programming Languages

So I learnt quite a few programming languages at college and they were:

  • C
  • Java
  • Python
  • JavaScript
  • PHP

Other Languages

So I did learn some languages which were not programming languages, so they were:

  • XML
  • HTML
  • CSS
  • SQL

Computer Science Concepts/Subjects

I learnt quite a few computer science concepts and subjects too and they were:

  • Object Oriented Programming
  • Operating Systems
  • Database Management Systems
  • Theory of Computation
  • Object Oriented Analysis and Design
  • Computer Architecture
  • Data Structures
  • Design and Analysis of Algorithms
  • Compiler Design
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Cloud Computing
  • Computer Networks
  • Cryptography and Network Security
  • Software Engineering
  • Mobile Computing
  • Distributed Systems
  • Information Retrieval Techniques

Design Subjects

I did learn some design subjects.

  • Human Computer Interaction

Management Subjects

And of course no course is complete without management.

  • Supply Chain Management
  • Software Project Management
  • Principles of Management

Projects

I had two projects - mini project and final year project.

  • For my mini project I made a weather app on android
  • For my final year project, I made an AR tour guide app on android

Ethics/Environment

Yes, I had ethics subjects too!

  • Professional Ethics in Engineering
  • Environmental Science and Engineering

Soft Skills

Communication is one of the most important skills, so:

  • Communicative English
  • Technical English
  • Interpersonal Skills/ Listening and Speaking
  • Advanced Reading and Writing
  • Professional Communication

Math subjects

I love mathematics, so these were some of my favourite subjects:

  • Algebra and Number Theory
  • Probability and Queueing Theory
  • Engineering Mathematics 1
  • Engineering Mathematics 2
  • Discrete Mathematics

Science Subjects

I had science subjects in the first year alone and they were:

  • Engineering Chemistry
  • Engineering Physics
  • Physics for information science

Mechanical Engineering subjects

These subjects were especially painful:

  • Engineering Graphics
  • Engineering Practices Lab

Electrical Engineering subjects

Some of these were hard and some of these I liked:

  • Basic Electrical, Electronics and Measurement Engineering
  • Digital Principles and System Design
  • Communication Engineering
  • Microprocessors and Microcontrollers
  • Telecommunication Network Management

Computer Science labs

  • Security lab
  • Mobile Application Development Lab
  • Cloud Computing Lab
  • Networks lab
  • Object Oriented Analysis and design lab
  • Data structures lab
  • Object Oriented Programming lab
  • OS Lab
  • DBMS Lab
  • Python Lab
  • C Lab
  • Internet Programming lab

Electrical Engineering labs:

  • Digital Systems Lab
  • Microprocessor and Microcontroller lab

Hope you enjoyed reading this. Tell me in the comments, what was your degree? I am grateful that I got a chance to study all this and gain so much knowledge, meet so many people who helped me study (professors and students). Happy studying (if you are still studying)!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
nikunjbhatt profile image
Nikunj Bhatt • Edited

Very good and large list!

I studied only half of these during Diploma in Computer Engineering. I love all kinds of science but not the traditional academic way. All maths above basic arithmetic like addition, subtraction, multiplication and division goes above my head; and so almost all the physics and chemistry. After computer, biology is my most favourite among science subjects, but due to requirement of chemistry and physics, I was not able to pursue it! India's education system is totally non-sense. The New Education Policy 2021 is also mostly similar; very little improvement. It needs ground breaking changes. You also studied so much more than required and which was out of your interest.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

thanks for your insights!