DEV Community

What FTP software do you use?

So I've just re-installed my PC, and before I download Filezilla, I'm interested to know what FTP software other people use :)

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
redcreator37 profile image
RedCreator37

I switched from FileZilla to WinSCP and have been liking it so far.

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚π₯𝐒𝐞 𝐝𝐞 π–πžπžπ«π

I use WinSCP for one server... because Filezilla for some reason doesn't like to connect to it! Haha. It's definitely good, but I've been using Filezilla for over a decade now.. it's tough to get out of that rhythm!

Collapse
 
leonllrmc profile image
leonllrmc

Filezilla πŸ“‚

Collapse
 
_ajay_gupta profile image
Ajay Gupta

WinSCP.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I used to use FileZilla but then I changed to Cyberduck and Transmit. I have to be honest though its been a long time since I used FTP software I have been using GIT for everything πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
cadams profile image
Chad Adams

Filezilla :)

Collapse
 
emadsaber profile image
emadsaber

I recommend FileZilla πŸ‘

Collapse
 
xera0 profile image
XeRA0

ftprush or slftp

Collapse
 
matttunney profile image
Matt Tunney

FileZilla. I really like you can assign colours to a connection.

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚π₯𝐒𝐞 𝐝𝐞 π–πžπžπ«π

Ooh can you!? I never realised 🀦 Will have to take a look at that.

Collapse
 
crazycoder009 profile image
RRN

So far been using FileZilla, The only problem I had was to navigate and open files in it, takes time to edit and a few clicks. Otherwise Its a Good software. Maybe will give a try on WinSCP.

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚π₯𝐒𝐞 𝐝𝐞 π–πžπžπ«π

How are you editing? You can right-click View/Edit, then when you save the file it automatically prompts a re-upload request.

Collapse
 
goombugi profile image
Cliff Levai

FileZilla

Collapse
 
manishfoodtechs profile image
manish srivastava

+1 I use it too.

Collapse
 
yannik_sc profile image
Yannik_Sc

As I'm running Linux with GNOME I simply use the built-in File Explorer, Nautilus

Collapse
 
torbentee profile image
Torben

I'm using cyberduck on my MacBook but it’s also available for Windows

Collapse
 
bjoern_sellnau profile image
Bjoern

I use Transmit

Collapse
 
habereder profile image
Raphael Habereder

mingw scp or wsl scp if I have a choice